About the Club
About the Club


Lokomotiv are one of the leaders of the Russian football. The club has thrice been Russian champions, and won numerous silver and bronze medals of the championship. Lokomotiv won the Russian Cup eight times, and the Russian Supercup three times.

Lokomotiv football club was established on 23 July 1922. That same day a team of the Moscow-Kazan Railway Kazanka played its first match against the Izmailovo sports club.

FC Kazanka and the October Revolution Club (KOR), established in 1923, were predecessors of the Lokomotiv. The current name of the team received in 1936.

Lokomotiv is one of the most acclaimed Russian clubs. During the Soviet times, Lokomotiv went through a period of formation. In 1936 the team won their first-ever USSR Cup, in 1957 they did it again. In 1959 Lokomotiv were close to becoming champions but stopped just a step from the title, winning the silver medals.

For quite a while, Lokomotiv have been famed as a leading club of the Russian Premier League. They have been champions thrice (in 2002,  2004 and 2017/18), won eight Russian Cups (in Seasons 1995/96, 1996/97, 1999/00, 2000/01, 2006/07, 2014/2015, 2016/17, 2018/19).

Six times, the Red-Greens won the silver medals of the Russian Premier League, and five times they came third. Lokomotiv won the Super Cup three times (in 2003, 2005, 2019), while their highest international achievement has been the semi-final of the UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup (1997/98, 1998/99).

The club has a unique infrastructure. The team’s home ground RZD Arena is located in Cherkizovo, Moscow’s eastern district. In the early ‘00s the stadium was reconstructed and opened in 2002 with a Lokomotiv – Uralan game. The all-seater hosts 27,084 people, and has long been the only stadium in Russia designed specifically for association football.

The stadium’s territory includes a system of modern football pitches, a leisure centre, an Ice Arena, and the Club Museum.